Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​The Serve Kentucky Commission is a statewide, bipartisan group of up to 25 members, appointed or re-appointed by the governor, with diverse service and volunteerism backgrounds. The State Commission is responsible for developing a comprehensive national service plan, assembling applications for funding and national service positions, and administering AmeriCorps federal grants in the State. (See 42 U.S.C. § 12638.)

Serve Kentucky Commission Members

Commission Leadership

DeAnna Brangers, Commission Chair
Appointed 2016
Vice Chair, Republican Party of Kentucky
Prospect/Jefferson County

Ka'Sondra Brown, Commission Vice Chair
Appointed 2019
Parenting Educator, Mended Counseling & Trauma Services
Lexington/Fayette County

Mary Rothenburger Steely, Commission Secretary
Appointed 2018
Henderson Regional Campus Coordinator, Murray State University
Sebree/Webster County

Commission Members

Joe Berry
Appointed 2020
Real Estate Developer, Malcolm Bryant Corporation
Owensboro/Daviess County

Lindy Casebier
Appointed 2022
Secretary, ​Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet
Louisville/Jefferson County

Andrew Cole
Appointed 2016
Director of Campus Ministry, Thomas Moore University
Crestview Hills/Kenton County

​Ed Devine
Appointed 2022
Assistant Business Manager, IBEW Local 369
Louisville/Jefferson County​

Robin Fields Kinney
Appointed 2022
Interim Commissioner, ​Kentucky Department of Education
Frankfort/Franklin ​County
Proxy: Brian Perry

Jack Kennedy
Appointed 2019
Deputy Judge/Executive, Franklin County Fiscal Court
Frankfort/Franklin County

Josh Hardesty
Appointed 2020
Chief Operating Officer & Vice President, Kentucky YMCA Youth Association
Louisville/Jefferson County

Kris Knochelmann
Appointed 2022
County Judge/Executive, Kenton County Fiscal Court
Covington/Kenton County

Rabbi Shlomo Litvin
Appointed 2019
Rabbi, Chabad of the Bluegrass
Lexington/Fayette County

Gary McCollum
Appointed 2014
Assistant General Counsel, Alliance Coal, LLC
Lexington/Fayette County

Megan Mortis
Appointed 2013
Public Information Officer, Henderson County Schools
Henderson/Henderson County

Michelle Mudd
Appointed 2020
Volunteer, Maryhurst
Louisville/Jefferson County

Lauren Palmer
Appointed 2014
College of Education Supervisor, Northern Kentucky University (retired)
Verona/Boone County

Kevin Russell
Appointed 2009 
Information Technology Specialist, U.S. Government, Fort Knox
Radcliff/Hardin County

Zion Smith
Appointed 2022
Youth Service Coordinator, ​Louisville Central Community Centers
Louisville/Jefferson County

Steve Tarver
Appointed 2022
President/C​EO, YMCA of Greater Louisville 
Louisville/Jefferson County