Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

2020 Governor's Service Awards

Judging for the 2020 Governor's Service Awards is now complete. Nominations received this year were outstanding, and therefore the judging committee had to make some very tough decisions. The entire Serve Kentucky staff would like to express their sincere thanks to everyone who took the time to nominate a special volunteer, volunteer group, nonprofit, or business.

All winning nominators have been contacted by phone or email. All other nominators will be notified by mail. The list of the 2020 Governor's Service Award winners will be released following the private ceremony to be held at the Governor's Mansion.

COVID-19 Update: The ceremony has been postponed. Serve Kentucky is exploring options to honor winners. 

Contact Amy Potts if you have questions about the awards.

About the Awards Program

The Kentucky Governor's Service Awards program offers a rare glimpse into the lives and achievements of Kentuckians who serve without expectation of compensation, recognition or commendation. The Governor's Office launched the program in 1975. Since 1995, Serve Kentucky has managed the awards program. It has been our distinct privilege over the years to recognize a few of the thousands whose volunteer service contributes immeasurably to a better Kentucky. The program is offered through a partnership with the Office of the Governor to highlight the importance of volunteer and national service across the Commonwealth.

2019 Governor's Service Awards

  • Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) Secretary Adam Meier honored 12 individuals and six groups from across Kentucky for their volunteer and service contributions at the 24th annual Governor’s Service Awards on March 6, 2019. Read the full press release
  • Learn more about the winners in an interactive version of the event program booklet, or download the PDF
  • Photos from the event are posted on Serve Kentucky’s Facebook page.  
  • Check out the full ceremony video below or on the CHFS Facebook page. 

Award Categories and Criteria

Volunteer Service Award

Classifications: Youth, Adult, Senior, Veteran
Recognizes individuals who have met a community need in an innovative and/or effective manner. Nominees may have made an impact through changed lives and/or community conditions as a result of service efforts. Nominees should demonstrate an ethic of service, compassion and/or nature to inspire others to serve.

Business Service Award

Classifications: Small, Mid-size, Large, Entrepreneur/Partnership, Enterprise/Corporation
Recognizes businesses that have made an impact through innovation, volunteer hours, number of volunteers, monetary support, etc. It may recognize ongoing community involvement and/ or the historical record of supporting volunteerism through policies and practices.

Group Service Award

Classifications: Nonprofit, Faith-based, General
Recognizes nonprofits, faith-based and/or general groups that demonstrate significant volunteer outreach and efforts to positively impact their community. It may recognize successful collaborations and/or management of an exceptional volunteer program.

National Service Award

Classifications: Individual, Program, Alumni
Recognizes an individual member and/or group of members of a national service program (AmeriCorps State/National; AmeriCorps VISTA, NCCC; or Senior Corps FGP, SCP, RSVP) who have demonstrated service beyond standard expectations of the designated program, an extraordinary example of the National Service spirit. It may recognize an alumnus whose commitment to embody service beyond their service term continues to bring about positive community change.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Classifications: Active, Posthumous
Recognizes a lifelong commitment to volunteerism and community service at a variety of levels, resulting in a substantial and/or sustained impact. It may recognize the outstanding service of an individual who has enhanced the delivery of social services in Kentucky. Nominees should demonstrate a minimum of 15 years of serving and engaging others in service.


23rd Annual Governor's Service Awards

22nd Annual Governor's Service Awards

21st Annual Awards

For information about past award programs and/or winners, contact Shannon Ramsey. Review the list of Past Governor's Service Award Winners.